top of page

Six Habits I Wish I Learned in School


In school, I remember learning that it takes twenty-one days to build a habit. That was the first and last thing the school system ever taught me about creating routines to follow. Today, I wanted to share some of my favorite patterns I weave into everyday life. It is important to mention that these habits might work for me, but not for you. I just went down my list and picked a few that I wish I had learned in school.

  • Wash your bedsheets once a week.

It can be easy to forget to wash your sheets, but it is important to get it done. Sweat, germs from your phone, and daily grime can get into your blankets and pillowcases, so it is a good idea to get things cleaned daily. Not to mention, it makes your room smell better.

I always wash my sheets after I have washed my clothes. All my bedding is washed with cold water, and I make sure to rinse them longer than usual. There is something about it that makes you feel clean. On a good week, I wash my sheets on Sunday. If I work that day, I get up early and try to do it then. Even if I cannot get it done before work, I have a headstart when I get home. Half done is better than nothing, and I can always wrap up the chore once I get home.

  • Clean the hairs off the bathroom floor

I’ve been growing my hair out again, and with that comes loose strands of hair everywhere. When you have time, make sure to pick the stray hairs off the tile, hardwood, and even carpet. Trust me, it makes the spaces feel sharper. You could always use a broom on bigger floor plans, but if you're impatient like me, you can try a lint roller. Do this every three days or so. It depends on your hair, really.

  • Do your laundry every two days.

Hear me out! If you wear any uniform to work, you need to routinely wash them and any other clothes you wear. Getting into the habit of washing your clothes daily; makes it easier to do than if you were to wait, say, two weeks. It’s fewer loads of laundry, fewer clothes to fold, and less smell. If you can, make sure to fold your clothes as soon as they get out of the dryer. I know it sucks, but it saves you time and frustration in the long run.

  • Drink more water.

I tell you here and here that this piece of advice has become a laughing stock online. It is true, drinking water will not solve all your problems. It will, however, help reduce headaches, assist with acne, boost your mood, and help you function. Adding fruit to your water like lemons, raspberries, and blackberries infuses many health benefits into the beverage. Having a timer helps me stay on track with hydration.

  • Journal your feelings.

I have blog posts on journaling here and here. Creating a routine for writing can be crucial for your mental health. Even if you type out your day in a Google Doc and delete it. Having a way to channel all your emotions and make a routine helps. Currently, I am working on gratitude prompts, so stay tuned for that.

  • Engage in a hobby at least once a week.

It can be easy to be consumed by work and social media. Setting aside an hour a week for a hobby is a habit you need. For me, writing is my hobby. I try to write a post at least once a week. If I do not feel like doing that, I hike, bind books, take care of plants, or rest. Long-story-short, making time for things you like doing should be a mandatory slot in your schedule. Don't be afraid to mix up hobbies as well. You can never do too many things for fun.





Those were some habits to build off the top of my head. I should mention here that it is easy to neglect habits and forget to do them. Do not beat yourself up over it! As easy as it is to forget, you can remember. Having patience for yourself and setting reasonable goals and expectations helps a lot. That will be it from me; thank you so much for taking the time to read my post!



Here is my Vocal page

Here is my website 

Here is my Instagram (@erinhastoomanybooks2.0)

Here is my Tiktok

Recent Posts

See All

Hillsborough Country Park Review

Hello, everyone! This post has been a long time coming, but this kind of content takes forever to make, so thanks for waiting. Hiking is one of my favorite pass times, and there are tons of parks I've

bottom of page