top of page

Rating My Nail Polish Collection


Nail care is an avenue of beauty that I've just started to explore. If you don't know, I work in a crystal store. My manager has told me that there might be a time where I'll need to hold and take pictures of crystals for the online store. I'm also showing customers semi-precious stones in person and feel more confident when my nails look nice.

I didn't want to start getting manicures, so I went to Target and browsed the nail care section over several months. I will leave the links at the end of the post, but I am not sponsored!

  • OPI: Matte Top Coat (9303).

We'll start with the topcoat. I did want to say that if your last layer of color is even a little wet, the topcoat will ruin the entire nail once applied. I also noticed that it didn't really protect my manicure compared to leaving it as is. The top coat dulls the gloss on your nails, but you can see the brush strokes if you go over your nails more than once. The bottle is high quality, and the brush is the right size. I'd rate this a 3/10.

  • OPI: Buble Bath (1216).

OPI has a variety of colors to choose from, and I picked their color Bubble Bath. It's easily the worst polish on the list.


I'm not sure why, but the consistency of this product is way off for a polish. Typically, the polishes I use are a thick liquid that runs and doesn't glob in one place. Bubble Bath has the viscosity of watery slime. The color needs at least six layers before it becomes opaque. It never dried. I gave it forty-five minutes of wait time, and it still smeared when my nails touched anything. This might be a dud product that slipped through quality control, but I lost my receipt, so I feel justified in complaining about it (/j). Overall, the color is pretty, the bottle is glass, and it has the broad brush that OPI is known for. I'd give it a 2/10.

  • OPI: You Don't Know Jacques (1011).

This is the first bottle of polish I bought when I started taking nail care seriously. I've worn it twice and still have plenty of product left. It's a deep burgundy/purple color, which is coincidently the exact color of one of my work shirts.

It's been a while since I've worn it, but I don't remember it taking too long to dry. The brush is good, and the consistency of the polish is up to standard. It's definitely one of those colors that looks a little different depending on the lighting.

See, in the store, it had that purple tone to it. In sunlight or any other bright light, it looks brown. It makes it hard to style outside of work, and the ambiguous appearance of the color makes it hard to plan a casual outfit around. It's a discreet, professional color that's easy to apply. It comes in a glass bottle like its counterparts and stores nicely. I'd give it a 6/10. It's nice, and I would wear it again, but I have other favorites on this list.

  • Olive and June: BP Icy Blue.

I love the color of this one. It's a refreshing blue/gray/lilac, and it comes in a unique, cylinder-shaped glass bottle. It's the only polish I have from this company. One gripe I have is the packaging.

For the life of me, I couldn't find the polish's name on the bottle. The bottle also doesn't have any code on it, as you see with OPI and Essie. I guess this is to definitively tell colors apart if two polishes look similar. That, or these are batch codes. I figured I'd bring it up just in case. I couldn't find anything like that on BP Icy Blue.

Moving on, I went to their website to double-check, and BP Icy Blue appears to be the same one I have. This color is one of the polishes in the Blue Crush Set, so hopefully, I'm not mixing anything up.

The consistency is a little thick, so the polish will build up quickly. You have to be extra careful with your application. Luckily, the brush is wide-set, so there shouldn't be too much of a problem. It does need a few layers to build, meaning that it will take way longer to dry. For me, it took about four coats to be opaque. This one gets a 5/10. If you go too heavy on the coats, it looks like you have a block of paint on your nails.

  • Essie: In Plane View (728).

In Plan View was my first Essie polish. As you can see, it's a deep-sea green that comes in a cube-shaped bottle. Essie's brushes are my favorite, and the color was opaque. I'm sure it's standard for darker colors to need fewer layers, but I was still impressed with the formula. I could have gotten away with one coat, but I went with two, just in case.

The color is the only setback to me. I went with neutral outfits when I was wearing this because it was hard to match anything with this shade of color. That being said, it's one of my only polishes that are colorful, so I'll wear it again when I get bored. In Plane View gets an 8/10 from me.

  • Essie Wild Nude (1005).

I bought Wild Nude today and can already tell this is my favorite polish. Wild Nude is the discreet yet classy color I've been looking for. The brush, bottle, consistency, and wearability are perfect. This color gets a 100/10 from me. Like In Plane View, I feel like I could get away with one coat. I did two layers, plus an extra one to cover any mistakes I made while painting.


Those are all my nail care products rated. Hopefully, this was entertaining and maybe even helpful. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. If you want to see more content like this, please like this post, share it with a friend, or subscribe. Make sure to follow me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks!

  1. OPI Matte Topcoat(9303) https://www.opi.com/shop-products/nail-care/top-base-coats/matte-top-coat

  2. OPI Bubble Bath (1216) https://www.opi.com/shop-products/nail-polish-powders/nail-lacquer/bubble-bath

  3. OPI You Don't Know Jacques (1011) https://www.opi.com/shop-products/nail-polish-powders/nail-lacquer/you-dont-know-jacques

  4. Olive and June: BP Icy Blue https://oliveandjune.com/products/bp?_pos=1&_sid=1c6417db6&_ss=r

  5. Essie In Plane View (728) https://www.target.com/p/essie-nail-color-in-plane-view-160-0-46oz/-/A-76486073

  6. Essie Wild Nude (1005) https://www.target.com/p/essie-nail-polish-0-46-fl-oz/-/A-53827187?preselect=52047550#lnk=sametab




Recent Posts

See All

Hillsborough Country Park Review

Hello, everyone! This post has been a long time coming, but this kind of content takes forever to make, so thanks for waiting. Hiking is one of my favorite pass times, and there are tons of parks I've

bottom of page