top of page

High Maintenance Crystals



Let's make one thing clear: I don't seriously have a vendetta against these crystals. Everyone gravitates towards different crystals, and if these are your favorites, you have good taste! In case you're new, I work in a crystal store, and I thought it would be fun to talk about some crystals that get under my skin (literally.) These crystals are high maintenance and frustrating to work with.

  • Rough selenite



Believe it or not, your favorite charging stone can be a PAIN to work with. Rough selenite can actually cause splinters (hence "under my skin.") Not to mention, the dust on these crystals is just as sharp as the splinters themselves. Fear not! I found the best course of action when stocking rough selenite. Personally, I close my eyes and use an air blower (or those cans with pressurized air inside) before putting them on the sales floor. It helps to do this over a paper towel or a scrap piece of paper so you can throw everything away. I always remember to give individual pieces a spray to get rid of any remaining dust.

  • Peacock Ore



These went on the sales floor for Black Friday. They're beautiful pieces, also known as chalcopyrite (try quickly typing that into a system). The biggest problem? They stain your hands like no one else's business. Even though they're not fragile, our store still wraps them up so they can't transfer dirt onto any other crystals. Luckily, we keep hand sanitizer on the register for situations like this.

  • Muscovite Mica



These guys have such beautiful opaque gold color. They're lightweight and form in intricate shapes. Unfortunately, they shed and throw flakes everywhere. I always double wrap them at the register and tell customers that they are fragile. From my experience, holding them in cupped hands works the best. You don't want to grapple with the edges and risk breaking a piece of it. Like most crystals, it helps to keep them away from the edge of tables and shelves. Maybe grab a velvet pillow for them to sit on or something (/hj.)

  • Rough Lepidolite



This really depends on the piece. Some pieces of rough lepidolite give me no issue, and others wake up and choose violence. It's primarily lepidolites from places outside of Brazil. Just like muscovite mica, these can flake and shed like cat fur. They're delicate and are prone to producing tons of dust. The luster on these pieces is absolutely gorgeous. They have a rich, metallic, lilac color to them.

  • Rough Celestite



I've never seen tumbled celestite in person. It exists, but the store I work at doesn't have them. Don't get me wrong, rough celestite is beautiful. I have one myself. The biggest issue is that no matter the piece, they are fragile. They can't go in the water. They can get sun-damaged. Not to mention, they also flake and shed. It's completely normal for celestite to flake and shed. In fact, I would be worried if we had a rough piece that didn't do that. It just means that the shelves need to be dusted more often, and I have to wrap them as delicately as possible.


There you have it. In essence, crystals are a part of nature and thus perfectly imperfect. I know that the expectations are a tad strained when collecting crystals. My advice is simple. Take care of your crystals and research any accommodations you need when buying them. Some crystals are not suitable for children and pets. Display them accordingly and store them with care. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. If you want to support me and my content, please like, share, or subscribe. Don't forget to follow me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0!




Want more crystal content? Here are my other posts!





bottom of page