top of page

2022 New Year’s Resolutions



Personally, I never really liked the idea of long-term goals, especially those set at the very beginning of the year. It probably has something to do with 2020 absolutely destroying my intentions with everything that happened. I mean, how could you possibly account for all the crazy things that could happen? As I have gotten older, I've realized that having plans and aspirations throughout the year can be helpful. Even if I don't hit all my goals, at least I can say that I thought ahead and set those expectations for myself. Here are some ideas I've had brewing throughout 2021 and want to get done.

  • Get a credit card

I know, I know, I've been told it's a bad idea. There's no shortage of credit card companies that take advantage of young adults. As of right now, I don't have any college loans that would allow me to build my credit monthly, so I need to find another way to build a score. Honestly, it's for the best that I put post-secondary school on hold right now because I have time to sort these things out early on.

My only drawback on credit cards is the APR. If you haven't heard, the percentage charge on new cardholders is extremely high. Basically, these companies don't have a way of knowing if you're a good borrower, so they have that excuse to over-charge on transactions. I'm the furthest thing from an expert, but I know that having a good credit score is paramount later on in life. There are other ways to build credit, and maybe I'll find one that works a bit better for me. For now, that's my plan.

  • Create my own website


As much as I'm enjoying Vocal, I feel like adding a platform that I own gives me more control over my content. Unless you're a Vocal+ member, it's hard to gain consistent growth. My free trial ends in February, and I hope to have a website up by then. I won't completely switch platforms, and I'll post on both pages, but I think the ability to use keywords will really help me. Not to mention, having a website might allow me to have a comment section, so I can hear from you guys!

  • Hike more often


This one is hard to define because, really, what counts as "more often?" It's not like my hands are tied when it comes to managing time, but if you've ever hiked in Florida, you know how tiring it can be. Truthfully, I'd like to visit at least five new parks. It doesn't matter if it's sightseeing or full-on hiking. So far, I've found two parks that I'm eagerly waiting to go to, and one is even a state park. Hiking by the beach sounds fun as well, especially if the weather permits. I'm not limiting my spots to nature parks, but I'd like to stay in that realm.


  • Reach 100k words on my manuscript


I've been writing this manuscript since last August. I'm not even close to done with it, but it's the longest story I have ever written. My plots are almost always made up on the spot and refined as I go along, but lots of moving pieces have collided into place. I feel like I can hit this benchmark this time. Right now, It's sitting at 94.8k words! This is only my first draft, so the majority have to be cut anyway.

  • Create a schedule for posting


When it comes to content, especially blogs, consistency is key. I think the longest I've ever gone without posting is two and a half weeks. My problem stems from finding the motivation to write about things I feel comfortable posting. I mean, I have my buckets listed in my bio:

  1. crystals

  2. fashion

  3. writing tips

  4. design

  5. opinions

  6. and more

The last one I put as a wildcard. In theory, if I wrote something I really wanted to post; but it didn't fit with my account, I could chalk it up to this. Who would have guessed that I wouldn't get the inspiration to write about any of these (/s)? Writing on command is hard for me to do. In the New Year, I'd like to create a schedule. Not to mention, I feel like my buckets are being disproportionally represented on my page. My deepest apologies to anyone who subscribed for fashion content. I swear, I'm trying.


My goals for 2022 are a little scattered, but I know writing them down will help me organize them. I tried my best to make them specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and; time-bound, or SMART if you went to an American public school. In all seriousness, goals are healthy, but giving yourself patience is even more so. It's a lot of energy to achieve an ambition, so shout out to anyone who's done it. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. If you want to support my content please like, share, or subscribe. Don't forget to follow me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0!




Recent Posts

See All

Hillsborough Country Park Review

Hello, everyone! This post has been a long time coming, but this kind of content takes forever to make, so thanks for waiting. Hiking is one of my favorite pass times, and there are tons of parks I've

bottom of page